Cornflake marshmallow cookies

Cornflake marshmallow cookies

I have a wee problem with throwing out food (consider the cost! The waste, particularly when so many go without! The ecological footprint of getting food from farm to factory to store to home!), which causes me to sometimes keep food around longer than I should, and eat produce and leftovers of questionable freshness (sorry mom). It also means that I can get mildly preoccupied with making meals using up every last scrap of food in the house.

As you can imagine, this compulsion can become quite consuming when one is about to move out of a home. Our food supplies are thinning appropriately and we’ve made a conscious effort not to buy any more food than we can eat in the next two weeks, but I still take a food inventory every day, intent on using up every last can of cannellini beans and every lingering square of dark chocolate. So far, I’ve made Italian wedding soup to use up some stellete pasta, hummingbird cake to get rid of shredded coconut and a tin of pineapple slices, and raspberry crumble bars to use up a jar of fancy jam.

But my favourite, and certainly Allan’s, has been a big batch of cornflake marshmallow cookies. We’ve had a huge and neglected box of opened cornflakes occupying precious space on our pantry shelf for the better part of our year in London, and every time Allan suggested we throw it out I’d pop open the box, take a taste and declare it still fit for eating (not that I ever subsequently did). With our days in London numbered, I needed a purpose for the cornflakes, and I found it in these cookies. Never mind that if I had to throw away any food, semi-stale cornflakes would certainly be the least offensive. Never mind too that I had to buy a bag of miniature marshmallows, of which I only used half, for these cookies and which then became fodder for more recipe-searching. You should make these, skip the peanut butter chips and bake for 12 minutes.

Big scoops of dough, ready to be chilled.

Big scoops of dough lined up for a chill in the fridge.

Stacked, and ready for a picnic.

Stacked, and ready for a picnic.

Other things on the agenda for the coming week: pepita brittle with the nearly 1 kg of hulled pumpkin seeds we currently have, a midsummer cake and Irish soda bread with the self-raising wholemeal flour that the Doxsees left behind, and zucchini bread to finish off the cream cheese frosting and toasted nuts I have left over from making the hummingbird cake. You see now how this is a terrible, vicious cycle? I would dwell on this some more but there’s a bag of half-eaten pitted dates that needs my attention.

