The sun has just set behind the Eiffel tower.

The sun has just set behind the Eiffel tower.

Please believe me when I tell you that I really want to write something coherent and insightful in this space but I’ve reached deep into the recesses of my brain and come up completely empty. Admittedly, this is not a huge surprise, but I know this time that my creative thought is being crowded out by all the words that I’m seeing on printed pages and reading in textbooks. I’m frantically studying and writing essays in a mad dash to this term’s finish line, that is, this Thursday, when Allan and I leave for a Christmas vacation in Europe (don’t worry, I’m not expecting your pity). This isn’t to say that we’re not still enjoying the run-up to Christmas – we made a big batch of molasses crinkle cookies that have been reminding us of the scents and spices of the holidays, and this past weekend we took a long walk through Regent St., Leicester Square and Covent Garden to see the spectacular London Christmas lights. Hope the Christmas season so far has been bright for you as well.

