I wish I were here instead! Resort town in Sicily, Italy; photo taken during Christmas vacation 2012.

I wish I were here instead! Resort town in Sicily, Italy; photo taken during Christmas vacation 2012.

There was a snowstorm this weekend in London! And by this, I mean it snowed. It was enough to shut down some public schools, disrupt transit services, and wreak general havoc on people’s plans. Fortunately, Allan and I had no plans. So we just stayed inside.

Wishing, perhaps, for a warmer and more coastal locale, we had a bunch of seafood this weekend. Friday night was spicy mussels steamed with white wine, butter, shallots and bacon. I can’t remember the last time I cried chopping onions but who knew those little shallots packed such a powerful punch? Allan caught me making use of a secret weapon.

Chop chop

What? This is totally ingenious and normal.

What? This is totally ingenious and normal.

Tonight we made squid ink pasta with roasted shrimp prawns (as they call them here) in a garlic/lemon/olive oil sauce. Yum.

