Looking up at the blue sky through some trees in our building's garden.

Looking up at the cobalt sky through some trees in our building’s garden.

Our building sits on a quiet square in Central London, and in the middle of it is a fenced-in garden, for the use of the square’s residents only. It is beautiful, spacious and manicured, with barbecue pits and a tennis court and plenty of grassy lawn though its locked gates can make it feel exclusive and not in a good way.

Allan wrote his first exam today and as a way to wind-down we walked some slow laps of the garden perimeter’s path in the late afternoon sunshine. I’ve been admiring this beautiful pink tree in the garden for a couple weeks now and today I stood under it with my camera trying to capture its soft hue against the piercing blue sky. I was surprised to find that it was the tree’s more homely sister, with its barren, skinny, angular branches, that turned out to be much more visually striking and interesting. There’s a metaphor in there somewhere, methinks.

Japanese maple leaves with my shadow in background.

Japanese maple leaves with my shadow in background.

