Next date night: I scored us tickets to see Ha-Joon Chang, Allan's academic crush. #bestwifeever

Next date night: I scored us tickets to see Ha-Joon Chang, Allan’s academic crush. #bestwifeever

Allan and I have an occasional chuckle over whether the word overtired actually exists in the English language. In my books, overtired is definitely a redundant and unnecessary word. Is it just me or doesn’t the word tired already imply* that you have exceeded some normal limit of alertness?

Astoundingly, Merriam-Webster does indeed list overtired as an actual word, which violates all of my English-language sensibilities. Perhaps this is why I so enjoyed randomly coming across a list of common redundant phrases while researching how to write a project abstract. For some reason it really tickled me, literally (wait…no). I literally died laughing (someone stop me). Seriously though, having self-admitted verbose* tendencies, I’m sure I’ve been guilty of using more than one of the following:

Common redundancies used in the English language:

  • circle around (only marginally better than the hideous oxymoron “centre around” – don’t even get me started)
  • final outcome
  • new innovations
  • particular interest
  • summarize briefly
  • shorter/longer in length
  • puzzling in nature
  • already existing
  • completely eliminate
  • basic fundamentals
  • estimates roughly at
  • period of time
  • main essentials
  • true facts

(*I caught myself writing “implicitly imply” and “overly verbose”! Elsewhere, before I deleted it, I wrote about being “a legalist on the rules.” Egads, there are minefields everywhere!)

 

