He's giving me a brave thumbs-up but he's actually sick as a dog (which is also the only reason why I'm not making a fuss about him laying on the bed in outdoor clothes).

He’s giving me a brave thumbs-up but he’s actually sick as a dog (which is also the only reason why I’m not making a fuss about him laying on the bed in outdoor clothes).

This was Allan, curled up in a ball, trying to get even a fleeting moment of rest and comfort, five minutes before he left for his exam. It started with me last night, when the symptoms I’d been blaming on seasonal allergies (runny, congested nose; sneezing; tickle in the throat) also started to include a productive cough and chills. Astute doctor that I am, it finally dawned on me that I had been brewing a cold and with that realization I shut down the studying and crawled into bed with a book, feeling very sorry for myself.

Then Allan started feeling unwell overnight, culminating in some, um, gastrointestinal difficulties this morning while he was in the final stages of preparing for his mid-afternoon exam. He unenthusiastically swallowed a bit of soup that I forced on him and then I gave him a hug good-bye before he left the flat, looking and moving very much like a zombie. I was relieved a few hours later when he called saying he’d survived the exam and was sure he’d passed (high-five!) and was now on his way home.

We cancelled our reservation for a celebratory dinner at a sushi restaurant (we had an awesome “2-dinners-for-the-price-of-1” deal but no matter, we’ll use it some other time) and instead spent the evening in bed clutching each other and shivering under thick comforters. It has also been raining non-stop today, save for a few dry hours this morning, so on the whole the day has been pretty subdued. Still, Allan’s exams are over and done with – we both agree it’s been the most intense time of his life and that he’s never worked so consistently and so hard for such a long time – and even though our bodies can’t keep up we’re doing cartwheels and victory laps on the inside.

