Last month I asked a British classmate what kind of weather I could expect from London in the summer.

She shrugged. “It could be anything. Last year it was miserable. I think it rained every day. But one thing’s for sure. During exam time it will be beautiful out. It always is.”

This was the weather forecast for the week of May 26:

We did indeed have a solid week of drizzly days and dreary gray skies.

And wouldn’t you know, one day into my 11-day exam period, this is the weather forecast today and this week:

June4

I know, I know, #firstworldproblems and all that. But the beautiful weather (and the thought of Allan sitting with a French press full of coffee in the peaceful garden, all blue skies and fresh air and blooming flowers and birds chirping) really isn’t helping my studying cause. I’ve resorted to keeping my curtains tightly drawn to trick myself into believing that outside my window there isn’t a city that’s rejoicing in a perfect – and rare – spring day in London.

